jump to navigation

The Artist and His Mediums February 17, 2009

Posted by ah12 in art, visual culture.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

So, I suck at art. Just today, I squished my hand in a printing press. I have issues with stick figures. Ever heard the saying “The Apple never falls far from the tree”? Its bulls**t , my father is an artist, by that I mean  its what he does virtually full time. You’ve probably never heard of him, but none the less at roughly the same age I was when I pulled a C+ in Intro to the Arts my freshman year of high school, my father was working as an apprentice for the restoration of a very old church in Bavarian Germany.

Just as William Blake is known not just for his poetry, but also for his prints on which his poetry appeared, an artist is far more than his mediums. My father uses photography, wire hangers, cigars, and your more typical paints, oils, and so on for his works. He may not be famous, but just like any famous artist, he experiments with many various mediums to capture the imagination and attention of spectators, which is the real talent. Blake was originally known for the quality of his prints, but later on gained the deserved recognition for his poetry.

For proof that an artist is more than just his mediums, but that they DO play a role in the expression of his clips, look at the following. Notice how my father, and two of his famous contemporaries all use different forms of media to capture and evoke

http://stephanhess.com

http://banksy.co.uk

Comments»

1. aliruppel165 - February 19, 2009

I was not only horrible at art, but almost could not complete the ninth grade due to a semi falling grade in introduction to art and color. Yes, it is true I almost was held back for an art class, that my rigid high school believed to be extremely monumental and important for my tenth grade status. So, skip ahead some years and I decide to become, out of all the majors in college, an art history major. I might not be able to create the art but I surely enjoyed to view it, yet little did I know to complete my major I had to take two studio arts, yikes. I thought this would not possible in any manner to complete, my ninth grade years had not left me and I am still a horrible painter, drawer, sculptor– so I enrolled in photography– an art form I had to try to tackle!

This semester in Intro to Imagining class I have truly understood that, like the artist Kaus, art comes in all forms. Artist truly go beyond their give mediums. Just today in class we saw an artist who merely took pictures of peeling paint. How could this be art? How did this artist see a peeling, gross, grey wall worthy of photo. I believe that not only can artist go beyond its medium, true artists go beyond what is seen as art–I believe this makes an artist.

In the YouTube clip we saw that today art can be not only on many different types of canvas but art can be inspired by many different things. One of the most interesting things I found from this clip was the fact that all of this “current” artist’s pieces were truly based on pop culture and current subject. I think that this mere fact truly points to our society’s dependance and importance it gives the media in our culture. Art has gone for pieces of great gods and Biblical figures and scenes to scenes and figures from current media. Viewing art is truly a look into a society or culture of the time, thus I believe that reading the Songs was not only interesting and beautiful but a true look into the society and culture that Blake was in at the time.

2. ah12 - February 23, 2009

thanks for that ali, i like your definition of art a lot. art is nothing without imagination and inspiration.


Leave a Reply

