jump to navigation

Personal Manifesto March 25, 2009

Posted by jr4024 in culture, gender, race, structure.
trackback

Josephina Ragon

Burcar

FSCT 301

Manifesto

 

I was the first girl born into a white, middle class, Italian, Catholic family of five children in a suburban area. My parents grew up in Brooklyn but chose to move to Long Island to raise their children in a better environment then they had grown up with. I was born female and was assumed to become a well brought-up woman. I was born white and was assumed to marry within my race and produce more of this race. I was born into the middle class and was assumed to achieve a higher status and the ability to support myself. I was born Italian and was assumed to treat my father with the upmost respect, take full responsibility as the oldest, and always put my family first. I was born Catholic and was assumed to be a heterosexual, complete all my sacraments, get married, and bear children.

Since being a student at William Smith College, I have taken certain courses that have changed my life in ways that I have not even fully explained to my parents. I have developed endless amounts of reason, through education, for why I do not consider myself Catholic anymore. This distance created away from my religion also allowed me to become a passionate feminist which plays an important role in how I live my life. As a result of this awareness: one of my majors is Women Studies, I am a very active member of Women’s Collective, NARAL pro-choice, and PRIDE alliance here on campus. With Women Studies as my major, I dream to work at an organization whose goal is to empower women in one way or another. Through the Women’s Collective, I have gained the courage and motivation to march around campus during Take Back the Night and I am currently co-directing the Vagina Monologues. In the pro-choice club, the majority of what we do involves sex education as well as giving out contraception to help create a more safe experience for college students. Last but not least, in PRIDE alliance, these members are very close friends of mine and I hold the Publicity/PR chair for events such as films and days that celebrate homosexual liberation.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

