jump to navigation

Patching up the patchwork February 20, 2009

Posted by andiroo in cyborgs.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I’ll be quite honest – trying to read Patchwork Girl on my own was… difficult.  Now I am not sure if it was my computer or if it was my inability to follow the .pdf guidelines, but surely something was working against me.  I would click here, and something would pop-up there – a jumbled mess, in my opinion, with no direction or any conceivable end results.  However, at the lecture I was enlightened by the truth of her work, and I was astonished at how well it was written – how well it made me connect, and how it made me feel the words she wrote, more than just listening to them.

Her whole approach to writing, reading, and everything in between baffled me at first, but I think that’s just because she hit the nail on the head.  I sensed right off the bat that she knew what she was talking about, instead of talking about something she knew – her dedication to literature, and to animation is ever-clear and her ideas were equally as amazing.  She really gave me an insight into the fabrication that writing truly is – a piece by piece construction of our own entity – be it a monster, or be it something else, and this I really enjoyed.

Too bad I still can’t figure out how to read it on my computer 😦

Comments»

1. slickpig - February 21, 2009

I know exactly what you are saying. At the lecture I was really impressed at how tight and organized and precise her lecture was. No word was out of place, or random, or meaningless. Not only that, but she had really great ideas and theory that she is able to put into practice in her writing.

2. ah12 - February 23, 2009

hey! i gotta be honest, i had trouble with the story too. the computer aspect was troublesome, to say the least.

i was very frustrated by Ms. Jackson’s work, and im not her biggest fan, but i enjoyed her lecture because i began to understand what she is trying to get across to the reader

she is not someone whose work i enjoy reading, but she is certainly interesting and definitely an intelligent person who was a perfect choice to invite to the lecture

-Alex


Leave a Reply

